Rock's Backpages Library Rock's Backpages
the online library of pop writing

The Golliwogs: Pre-Creedence

Tom Nolan, Phonograph Record, April 1975

BLUESY ROCKIN' quartet from El Cerrito makes debut with this derivative but infectious disc of baker's-dozen-plus-one tunes. Opener, ‘Don't Tell Me No Lies’, will appeal to Dave Clark fans, while ‘Little Girl’ has that surf-ballad feel.

Total word count of piece: 339


Becoming a member is easy. Membership gives you access to all the thousands of articles in the library.

Click here to go to Subscribe page.

Click here for academic and other group subscriptions.