Rock's Backpages Library Rock's Backpages
Rock's Backpages

Tom Waits: Frank's Wild Years

Barney Hoskyns, New Musical Express, 1987

SUBTITLED "Un Operachi Romantico In Two Acts", Frank's Wild Years is effectively the final part of a trilogy that began in 1983 with the extraordinary Swordfishtrombones. As Waits says in the booklet that accompanies this record, "Frank took off in Swordfish, had a good time in Rain Dogs, and he's all grown up in Frank's Wild Years."

Total word count of piece: 645