Rock's Backpages Library Rock's Backpages
Rock's Backpages

Captain Beefheart: The Beef Of The Matter

Ian MacDonald, New Musical Express, 14 April 1973

DON VAN VLIET and his orchestra are here for their third British tour. The current line-up of The Magic Band features Zoot Horn Rollo (first guitar); Rockette Morton (second guitar and bass); Alex Pyjama St. Clair (third guitar); Orejon, otherwise known as Roy Estrada (bass); Ed Marimba (drums); and Beefheart on vocals and harmonica.

Total word count of piece: 2648


Becoming a member is easy. Membership gives you access to all the thousands of articles in the library.

Click here to go to Subscribe page.

Click here for academic and other group subscriptions.